Student Matinee Performance Series
spacer

Let Our Stages Be Your Classroom

General Facts
Student Matinee Performances are Tuesday-Friday mornings (see individual performance descriptions for show times).

Group Sales Only - Single Ticket Sales are not available for Student Matinee performances and NO tickets may be purchased at the door.

Groups of 10 or more $9.50 per person (1 FREE chaperone per 20 student tickets).

Non-refundable deposit payment due within 10 days of booking confirmation to guarantee reservation (see Deposit Table at right).

Balance due six weeks before performance. All plays, locations, dates and times are subject to change.

For more information contact Marianne Kolar, Field Trip Coordinator, at 214-978-0120
or email fieldtrips@dct.org.

Box Office:
General Info:
Field Trips:
Contact Us

214-740-0051
214-978-0110
214-978-0120

Rosewood Center    Map It
5938 Skillman, Dallas, Texas 75231

Featured Image

JUNIE B.'s ESSENTIAL SURVIVAL GUIDE TO SCHOOL

Book & Lyrics by Marcy Heisler, Music by Zina Goldrich
Adapted from the Junie B. Jones series of books by Barbara Park
Directed by Nancy Schaeffer

October 5 – November 3 at 10:00 AM and 12:30 PM with selected 10:30 AM shows
Maximum Theater Capacity: 385
Estimated Running Time: 1 hour (no intermission)

Kindergarten and Up

Listen up, I tell you! Junie B. Jones is back, and she's got some advice to give...eventually. It was her brilliant idea to put together a survival guide for next year's students, but now she's at a total loss for what to add to it! It doesn't help that all her friends are full of cool ideas and dance numbers. How's a girl supposed to deal with all this competition? Hilariously, of course! In this musical extravaganza great for back–to–school time, Junie B. Jones learns some important lessons about school, patience, and personal growth. This play is perfect for fans of Junie B. and newcomers alike!

Show Themes: Childhood, Patience, Humor, School, Friendship, Learning to get along, Creativity, Family

Book Now

Download Study Guide

Featured Image

Harry Connick, Jr.'s
THE HAPPY ELF

Music & Lyrics by Harry Connick, Jr.
Book by Lauren Gunderson & Andrew Fishman
Directed by K. Doug Miller

November 29 – December 16 at 10:30 AM with selected 10:00 AM shows
Maximum Theater Capacity: 385
Estimated Running Time: 1 hour 15 minutes plus intermission

Kindergarten and up

From the Grammy–winning musician, Harry Connick, Jr.... this jazz musical is sure to get you in the holiday spirit! Eubie is, much to the exhaustion of his coworkers, an elf of unparalleled and endless energy looking to get a spot on Santa's coveted sleigh team. When his unstoppably sunny spirit comes into contact with the miserable town of Bluesville – where every single child is on the naughty list – he's in for the shock of a lifetime. Will his relentless positive attitude be enough to turn this gloomy place around, or has the happiest elf in the North Pole finally met his match?

Show Themes: Positivity, Potential, Curiosity, Hope, Teamwork, Equality, Seeing the good inside, Trying something new

Book Now

Download Study Guide

 
 
Featured Image

DON'T LET THE PIGEON DRIVE THE BUS! THE MUSICAL!

Based on the book by Mo Willems
Published by Hyperion Books for Children
Script by Mo Willems & Mr. Warburton
Lyrics by Mo Willems
Music by Deborah Wicks La Puma
Dramaturgy by Megan Alrutz
Directed by Nancy Schaeffer

February 2 – February 23, 2023 at 10:00 AM and 12:30 PM
Maximum Theater Capacity: 385
Estimated Running Time: 1 hour (no intermission)

Pre-K and up

The Pigeon is having a bit of an identity crisis — he never gets to do ANYTHING, and people just want him to "fly off". Everything changes when the confident, cool Bus Driver rolls into town, and the Pigeon finds himself with a brand new goal: DRIVE THE BUS! But, is it even possible? Time to find out! Written by Mo Willems: creator of the #1 New York Times bestselling, Caldecott Honor award-winning Pigeon picture books...this zany show is ready to take audiences for the ride of their lives!

Show Themes: Humor, Purpose, Independence, Confidence, Exploration, Jobs, Puppetry

Book Now

Download Study Guide

Featured Image

Cry Havoc Theater Company's
ENDLINGS

Written & Directed by Mara Richards Bim
Developed with the teens of Cry Havoc

February 14 and February 16, 2023 at 10:30 AM
Maximum Theater Capacity: 138
Estimated Running Time: 1 hour plus talkback

Grade 7 and up

DCT is honored to be presenting the final production of Cry Havoc Theater Company. In its eight–year history in Dallas, the teen theater company has been celebrated for putting young artists in the lead as creators and actors of bold art that disrupts expectations and shakes up old, entrenched conversations. ENDLINGS is a thought–provoking play that tackles climate change, social justice, grief, the pandemic, art, and much more with frank, youthful honesty. First-person interviews with individuals who are living on the front lines of climate change are juxtaposed with conversations among the teens of Cry Havoc to create a mind-shifting, thought–provoking, must-see theater piece that serves as a powerful conduit for community dialogue around issues that matter to all of us. Post–show conversations with subject matter resources will follow every performance.

Show Themes: Environmental Awareness, Climate Change, Hope, Activism, Socialization, Collaboration, Dealing with loss

Book Now

Check back for Study Guide

 
 
Featured Image

LAST STOP ON MARKET STREET

Winner of the 2016 Newbery Medal
By Matt de la Peña, Illustrated by Christian Robinson
Adapted by Gloria Bond Clunie
Directed by vickie washington

March 22 – April 5, 2023 at 10:00 AM and 12:30 PM
Maximum Theater Capacity: 385
Estimated Running Time: 1 hour (no intermission)

Kindergarten and up

On a Sunday after church in a bustling, ethnically and culturally diverse American city, CJ and his Nana board the public bus for their weekly trip across town to help out at a soup kitchen. Along the way, CJ notices the many differences among people and asks tons of curious questions: Why don't we have a car? How come that man can't see? How come it's always so dirty over there? How?...Why?...With Nana's fearless and compassionate guidance, CJ discovers that everyone and everything has a unique rhythm and purpose; that the world's got answers if we listen with more than our ears and see with more than our eyes. This inspiring and imaginative play is based on The New York Times bestseller that won a Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor, and a Caldecott Honor.

Show Themes: Kindness, Generosity, Empathy, Service, Diversity, Community, Intergenerational Friendship

Book Now

Download Study Guide

Featured Image

CHARLOTTE'S WEB

Written by Joseph Robinette
Adapted from the book by E.B. White
Directed by Artie Olaisen

April 27 – May 26, 2023 at 10:00 and 12:30 PM with select 10:30 AM show
Maximum Theater Capacity: 385
Estimated Running Time: 1 hour 15 minutes plus intermission

Grade 1 and up

The best–loved children's story of all time and winner of The Newbery Honor! Discover the true meaning of friendship and life's everyday miracles. Get caught in Charlotte's web to save Wilbur, the "radiant" and "humble" pig, and make friends once again with all his loveable barnyard neighbors. One of the first books ever written for children exploring issues of mortality, CHARLOTTE'S WEB is an emotional tribute to friendship with universal themes depicting courage, compassion and the ever-changing cycle of life.

Show Themes: Mortality, Kindness, Friendship, Family, Nature, Sacrifice, Wonder, Perseverance, Admiration, Coming of age

Book Now

Download study guide





Looking for virtual field trip options? Click here.




Book a Dramashop

After your class views a show at the Rosewood Center for Family Arts, a professional theater artist conducts a workshop using hands-on activities to emphasize important themes and concepts from the play. Learn more

 

IMAGE CREDITS

JUNIE B.'s ESSENTIAL SURVIVAL GUIDE TO SCHOOL, Harry Connick, Jr.'s THE HAPPY ELF, and DON'T LET THE PIGEON DRIVE THE BUS! THE MUSICAL! all produced through special arrangement with Music Theatre International www.MTIshows[dot]com. ENDLINGS: courtesy of Cry Havoc Theater Company. LAST STOP ON MARKET STREET produced by special arrangement with GURMAN AGENCY, LLC, a theatrical literary agency. www.gurmanagency[dot]com; logo courtesy of Penguin Random House LLC. CHARLOTTE'S WEB produced by special arrangement with Dramatic Publishing, Woodstock, Illinois. All other images (c) 2022 Dallas Children's Theater.








What Can A Road Trip Teach?


Plays

Academy Classes

Get Involved

National Tour

Educators

About Us